Skip to main content

Universidad de Extremadura Library Guide for International & Exchange Students: Library terminology

Common library expressions in different languages

Multilingual Glossary (State Library. New South Wales): The glossary contains common library phrases in 49 languages. This tool facilitates communication between library staff and patrons from diverse linguistic backgrounds.

Library words meanings

[1] 


Abstract

An abstract is a brief summary describing the main idea or content of a piece of written work such as a book or journal article.

Author
The name of the person who has created a written piece of work such as a book or journal article.

Barcode
Label containing a 9 digit number located on each Library item to allow the Library to scan and record each item you have borrowed. A barcode is also located on your student card.

Bibliography
A list of references to sources cited in the text of a journal article or book, or suggested by the author for further reading. A bibliography is usually found at the end of the work.

Booking (reservation)
Students can book the following in Newcat:

  • Group Study Rooms (In Newcat, click Title search, type in “room key” and follow the instructions).You can then borrow the room key from the Loans desk when it is time for your booking.

  • Short Loans items (Search the item in Newcat, click Book this Item and follow the instructions).You can then pick the item up in Short Loans and borrow it from the Short Loans desk.

Boolean searching
A way to connect keywords when searching for information. Use AND to reduce your search results (eg. leadership AND teamwork). Use OR to increase your search results (eg. leadership OR management). Use NOT to find better related results (eg. soccer NOT football).

Catalogue
A searchable list of items in a collection that is ordered to enable users to retrieve the record of each item by searching the title, author, keyword etc. The University of Newcastle Library provides access to 3 catalogues

Citation
/Reference
A reference which lists the bibliographic details of the material paraphrased or quoted in your research. The reference provides information such as title, author, journal title, volume, issue, publisher and date of publication so as to identify the specific resource used.

Corporate Author
Name of organization who produces/publishes a book, report or other work.

Copyright
Copyright is a type of legal protection for authors, artists and anyone who creates original written, aural or visual works. The most common forms are: writing, visual images, music and moving images. For example: If you wish to photocopy part of a book for your study, you need to limit the amount you photocopy to one chapter or 10% of the book’s content.

Database
 An online collection of information about journal articles. Search a database to find out what journal articles are available for your topic. The database will give you a list of references to relevant journal articles and often you can print or save the whole journal article (this is known as full-text).

Use Encore or Newcat to search for journal article references that do NOT give you the full-text. In Newcat, you need to select the Journals tab and type in the title of the journal.

Due date
The due date is the date you need to return borrowed Library items to the Library. Items borrowed from any University of Newcastle Library location can be returned to any University of Newcastle Library except Short Loans items which must be returned to the Short Loans area you borrowed the items from.

When you borrow anything from the University of Newcastle Library, you will get a piece of paper (receipt) with the due dates printed on it. The Library will send an email to remind you when your borrowed items are due to be returned to the Library.

Editor

The person who reviews and checks the content of a book or other resource before it's published. The editor checks the information for quality and accuracy.

Encore

Encore is the Library's new catalogue. Use Encore for general keyword searching.

Full-text
1. Documents available online which are complete and entire.

2. An electronic resource that provides the entire text of a single work (example: Britannica Online) or of articles published in one or more journals, magazines, and/or newspapers. For example, a bibliographic database that provides the complete text of a significant proportion of the works indexed, in addition to the bibliographic citation and (in many cases) an abstract of the content (example: JSTOR). Also spelled full text and fulltext.


Information Common
The Information Common is a special area in the Library designed to provide a collaborative and innovative study environment to support the Library and research needs of students. Students can access PCs and Macs, printing and photocopying facilities, the internet and more. The Auchmuty, City and Ourimbah Information Commons are open 24/7 during Semester.


Information Desk
A desk located in each Library where you can ask for help with finding information for your assignments or your research.

Interlibrary Loan


Loan system by which any library can request a document that is not among its funds, to meet the demand of a user. It is the exchange between libraries of their funds. See: Get It

Journal/Serial/Periodical/Magazine
A Journal contains documents, usually articles, written by different authors. The contents of any specific issue of a given journal will vary, however, most journals publish documents which deal with a particular academic discipline, subject or area of research. For example, Journal of Air Transportation, International Journal of Educational Research.

Journals and especially scholarly journals, contain articles written by individuals with specialist knowledge and relevant qualifications in the subject and who will often have conducted the original research as described in the article. Articles are accompanied by extensive citations, a bibliography and commonly also include an abstract.

Journals are generally a good source of current scholarly information because they can be published either weekly, monthly, bi-annually (twice per year), quarterly (every 3 months).

Journals at Huxley, City  and Ourimbah Libraries have the letter ‘J’ at the beginning of the call number eg. J570.15/1

Journals at the Auchmuty Library have the letter ‘S’ at the beginning of the call number eg. S658.5/2

Keyword
1. A word (or phrase) used when searching an index such as an online database. Unlike Subject Headings, keywords are not part of the Subject Vocabulary of the database.

2. Descriptive word or phrase found in a record in an electronic database that aids in retrieval of documents. In full-text searching, every word in a document becomes a keyword. A thesaurus is often constructed to list acceptable keywords.

Library PIN
PIN stands for Personal Identification Number.

Loan/Lend/Borrow
To take home Library items for your studies to keep for a short time. There are rules about borrowing Library items such as how many items you can borrow and how long you may keep them before you need to bring them back to the Library.

To borrow items you need to take them to the Loans Desk and show the Library staff your Student Card.

Overdue
Overdue means that the item checked out to you is late for return. It has not been returned to the library by the due date. 

Peer reviewed
In academic publishing, a "quality control" and editorial procedure whereby a panel of experts checks (reviews) the validity and accuracy of the content of a document prior to its publication. The peer review process is a distinguishing feature of scholarly journals and is crucial to maintaining high standards and accuracy and authority. 

Periodical
See: Journal

 Primary sources
In scholarship, a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic, used in preparing a derivative work. Primary sources include original manuscripts, periodical articles reporting original research or thought, diaries, memoirs, letters, journals, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs, interviews, government documents, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings, etc.

Print/copy system
All University of Newcastle students have access to their print/copy account via their student card to pay for photocopying and printing. Students can use autoloader machines to add money to their Print/Copy account. Autoloaders are available at all University Library locations.

Reference
A conventional word or phrase used in a work to refer the reader to another part of the text (see above or see below) or a similar word or phrase used in an index, catalog, or reference work to direct the user from one heading or entry to another (see or see also). Also refers to any Latin phrase used in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies to refer the reader to works previously quoted or cited, for example, ibid. and op. cit. Sometimes used synonymously with citation.

Also refers to a letter written in support of a person's application for employment or housing, usually by someone familiar with the applicant's qualifications or reputation, or to a person who agrees to be contacted for such a recommendation, usually by telephone.

Renew
This means to reborrow or keep your borrowed Library items for a longer time.

Scholarly journals
Scholarly (refereed) journals, are usually published by and for experts. In most cases, articles in scholarly journals present new, previously un-published research.

Serial see: Journal

Subject Heading
A word or list of words assigned to an item to describe what the item is about and to ensure items are similarly grouped togther – especially in library collections. The University of Newcastle Library uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe all items in the Library collection. Every item you search in Newcat (Library catalogue) will have one or more subject headings assigned to it.

Synonym
A word or phrase that has the same (or very nearly the same) meaning as another term in the same language, for example, the terms "book jacket" and "dust jacket." Synonyms in a language are collected in a thesaurus, available in the reference section of most libraries.

Thesaurus
A book that lists words in groups of synonyms and related concepts.
For example, The Macquarie Thesaurus, Roget's Thesaurus.

 

  [1] Adapted from InfoSkills tutorial. University of Newcastle Library. (2004). Infoskills: Information literacy and academic integrity tutorial  Retrieved May 20, 2010, from http://www.newcastle.edu.au/service/library/tutorials/infoskills/glossary.html

 
Biblioteca de la Universidad de Extremadura